Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Darkness Rising Reviews

 
« Back To Profile
  • 450 Commack Rd
  • Deer Park, NY
  • 516-799-4747
Details
Average Review
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
12 and older
Organization Type
Charity / NOT For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses
Review This Haunt
  • Email Verified SCARY!!!

    This was a great haunted house! So much detail. the rooms, lighting, sounds and actors were awesome! I really didn’t know what a haunted attraction would be like, this definitely exceeded my expectations. I loved hearing the screaming from the rooms around us. I can’t wait for next year to do it again!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Super scary!

    Just got back from this and it was such a blast! Really immersive sci fi horror experience. Was so impressed with the job they did, they had me jumping and screaming pretty much the whole way though! Lots of attention to making sure guests had a really great experience. Well worth the money, especially since it goes to charity. Can't wait to go again next year!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Darkness rising the best I have even been too ,thank you

    Scary,the wait wasnt long , when we entered the haunt we weren’t tripping over other people , I will tell you I was. so scared , when I go out my heart was beating so fast , I never screamed so much , it was the BEST , HOPE THEY ARE THERE NEXT YEAR also I forgot to say they had candy for everyone before we entered ??????????????????

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified You have to go!

    Take your family and friends to this awesome haunted house. Best one I've ever been too and the best part is that the proceeds go towards a good cause. You'll enjoy this for sure!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Spooky

    It was a lot of fun, I just recently went with my family and everyone there was holding onto each other for their life.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Incredible!

    This haunt was one of the best I have ever been to. The darkness is completely unnerving. The actors are fantastic and they do a great job of spacing out groups so it is just you in there...we will be back every year in the future

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great haunting!

    Came to this haunted house with college friends and we had a blast! Certainly would recommend coming here for a goood scare.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified SCARY!!!

    This was a great haunted house! So much detail. the rooms, lighting, sounds and actors were awesome! I really didn’t know what a haunted attraction would be like, this definitely exceeded my expectations. I loved hearing the screaming from the rooms around us. I can’t wait for next year to do it again!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Super scary!

    Just got back from this and it was such a blast! Really immersive sci fi horror experience. Was so impressed with the job they did, they had me jumping and screaming pretty much the whole way though! Lots of attention to making sure guests had a really great experience. Well worth the money, especially since it goes to charity. Can't wait to go again next year!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Darkness rising the best I have even been too ,thank you

    Scary,the wait wasnt long , when we entered the haunt we weren’t tripping over other people , I will tell you I was. so scared , when I go out my heart was beating so fast , I never screamed so much , it was the BEST , HOPE THEY ARE THERE NEXT YEAR also I forgot to say they had candy for everyone before we entered ??????????????????

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified You have to go!

    Take your family and friends to this awesome haunted house. Best one I've ever been too and the best part is that the proceeds go towards a good cause. You'll enjoy this for sure!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Spooky

    It was a lot of fun, I just recently went with my family and everyone there was holding onto each other for their life.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Incredible!

    This haunt was one of the best I have ever been to. The darkness is completely unnerving. The actors are fantastic and they do a great job of spacing out groups so it is just you in there...we will be back every year in the future

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great haunting!

    Came to this haunted house with college friends and we had a blast! Certainly would recommend coming here for a goood scare.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • must go if you like scary thing!!!

    it was fun I enjoyed it. the actors were really great.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified This is the one to check out

    Okay Been going to these things w my friends forever. Long Island, NYC upstate. This was awesome. Unique scary so different. Not run of the mill ppl jumping out at you every second. My sister and I were scared and then would laugh our asses off. It is very big took us 20 minutes and we were running. Long hallways. Rooms and overall theme was excellent. Five stars. I want to go again

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified AMAZING!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!

    I went on Friday, October 26th, 2018 and I couldn’t be more satisfied!! I have been to many haunted houses, but this one has been the best one so far!! I would give them a ten if there was a ten!! Dear actors, keep on doing a great job, don’t change please!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Must see

    U won't regret it!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Get ready to get scared

    I enjoyed it! The actors were so good and I screamed my butttt offff

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified A Must See Haunted Attraction

    One of the best haunted houses ive been to EVER!!! Took my girlfriend and we both enjoyed the thrill and excitement of characters and the props they had. Different from any other haunted attractions !!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Very intense, very different, very fun

    I love haunted houses, but I feel like I've seen it all. At Darkness Rising, that changed. It was extremely different than any other haunted house on Long Island. The set design is like a movie, and it's scary as Hell!!! It had me screaming so loud. The scares are vastly different, more thought out, and visually really awesome. Lots of scenes from this house will stay with me. It's something everyone who loves haunted houses should experience. I can't wait to come back here someday. Also, it's for charity, which is awesome!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Love the causes. Hate the pricing.

    I’m very disappointed how quickly this was over. I love that it’s for a few charities, but it’s not worth the $25 entrance. It needs more.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: < 10 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: No
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Fun night

    It was great, and they are doing this all for charity??

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Top notch scare factor

    Took my sons & friends aged 16, 19 & 20. They're at the age where it's hard to impress. Darkness Rising scared the pants off them. Not so much the blood & gore but the tension & fear factor! We were all screaming lol

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Excellent

    Great theme! Great actors! Lots of great scares!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified A different kind of haunted house

    This is the first time I seen a space themed haunted house, it was a different take on haunted house and very well done and the scares were good and entertaining

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Fun time!

    Fun and scary lots of unexpected scares, good price

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Amazing haunted house!

    I’ve been to some of the “best” haunted houses in NY and NJ and this one was by far my favorite. If you get a chance please visit this place! Better than Bayville and a fraction of the cost!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Absolutely incredible

    I’ve been to plenty haunted houses with Halloween season. Darkness rising is hands down the best one I’ve been to in my life. The price was affordable, there was no wait time. The actors were incredible and so was the story line. I can’t wait to come back next year!!!! Qt

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Best. Place. Ever.

    Darkness Rising was hands down the best haunted house I've ever been to. The wait wasn't that long, only 10 minutes. The staff was very kind, and told us what we could expect: a lot of scares! When we got inside to the haunted house itself, there was a captivating storyline (which I won't divulge here). The actors were so professional, I won't be surprised if they win an Oscar one day. There were a lot of dark places and flashing lights, which I enjoyed. The actors had a 'no touch' rule, but they were so close to you, and that added to the scare. The props looked completely authentic, I thought I was inside a horror movie. Overall, if you're looking for a ton of scares, go to Darkness Rising. Best night of my life!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awesome

    SOOO scary. I barely watched anything. Def stick to their rule: 12 and up. It wasn't scary in a bloody way. There was a lot of different scares and the actors were totally into it and the detail was great. There were different kinds of ghouls and goblins and monsters to creep you out. Half the time it was pitch black so you didn't know what was going to jump out at you. Definitely recommend it if you want a good scare.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Imaginative, scary and fun!!

    The crew at Darkness Rising provide you with plenty of jumps and scary moments that will leave you with a great adrenaline rush at the end. This haunt is comparable to Chamber of Horrors (maybe even better) It is reasonably priced and we barely had to wait. Highly recommend if you like to be scared!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • A MUST SEE HAUNT

    This haunt is outstanding. Thank God it is back. Located on 110 just north of the southern state parkway, find it , it's worth it. Great haunt, great people ---a DiBella review

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Great time

    I love to be scared and this haunted house met my expectations . It was amazingly scary . TOTALLY WORTH IT.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Best house I've been too!

    The owners greeted us at the door and was very friendly, but when you go into the attraction it was a different ball game! The graphics were superb and the cast were excellent at scaring us and did a wonderful job with their acting during cut scenes. The first two actors in the first room, Excellent intro! I go to at least 3 different haunted houses every October and this beats them all, and on top of it all the pricing was very fair. I'll be back next week with the rest of my friends.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Scary and a great theme!

    Went to this haunted house on opening night and loved it. It had a great theme and all of the actors and actresses were excellent. I spent most of the time screaming! Everyone that I went with also loved it. Definitely check it out!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Awesome haunting experience

    I travel the tri state area with my teenage kids each year to haunted holloween houses/ parks, etc and here are my thoughts. Darknessrising is the scariest one we've ever been too. Finally someone knows how to do it right. Genuine scares. My kids and wife literally were on the floor on a few occasions walking through.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Darkness rising is back baby!

    Great haunt at a great value! Always had a blast at the old Massapequa location, and they do not disappoint here in Farmingdale either! Terrific sets, actors, props and scares all combine for the perfect experience. Already looking foward to next year! Darkness rising does it again!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified awesome

    Honestly, walking into this my boyfriend and I didn't expect much. (We're 21) But we were pleasantly freaking surprised! It was awesome & I love that there was a story line. Don't want spoil anything. Great actors who really want to scare you. I'd do this again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great Value/Scare

    This is a small-business, grassroots-level haunted house run by two young guys who have a passion for set design and it really shows! The staging, acting and props are awesome . . . and it's scary too. Also, love that a portion is donated to charity. Definetly worth checking out!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Darkness Rising does it right!!

    This haunted house was awesome! The set was unique and so cool and all the actors were really into it. We all left talking about how great it was and loved how it was set up! Loved being scared at Darkness Rising!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • One of the Best

    This place is really cool! I have NEVER seen sets like this one. I was with a group where all of us agreed it was a great experience, the actors obviously love what they do and there are unique scares throughout. Highly recommend this place, really cheap compared to others that charge 2 times the price.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome

    This place is amazing! I've been to lots of haunted houses but would rate this place as one of the best.. The sets are very detailed and the actors really get into their roles. The special effects are very cool. Def worth the $18. Oh, and I even ate a hotdog at the Nathan's that's in the building. Will be going back again!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Alien Abduction

    Loved the Alien Theme and the work that went into making it so creative and different than the typical horror themes.The actors are great and the show was well scripted.The pitch black hallways get your adrenaline rush going ,not knowing what's going to happen or where the next turn is taking you.The staff are very helpful and friendly.It was scary but lots of fun.They also sell Darkness Rising T-shirts in black with the logo and awesome artwork on the back

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • A nice surprise

    I have been too many haunted attractions... too many to count. Darkness Rising was a fun surprise. Without giving too much away, there was a theme to the event that was very clear from beginning to end. I will admit that the current location was quite weird. It was located inside the PLAY Amusement, but parking was free and plentiful. I would definitely recommend this event to others.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Its finally back!!

    After waiting years of checking Facebook and Google to see if the massapequa hit was open, finally i found a facebook post that yes they have relaunched in Farmingdale!! This lived up to everything and more I had loved in the past about Darkness Rising. When the staff isnt hard at work scaring you inside they are such friendly volunteers outside ticket distributing. The price is so worth the length of the haunt and much cheaper than others on LI. This is one of the only haunted houses that I can say i screamed for since the time the entering so well you are not in a huge crowd of people. So very glad Darkness is back and here to kick off my Halloween season! Btw I am 23 and my bf is 29, so this is for all ages!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Best haunting experience

    Great actors, unique and scary frights, intricate and extremely fun haunted house. This experience is even better than the "professional" attractions at Disney and even Six Flags. The makeup and the actors were perfect, professional enough to be in horror films, and the atmosphere of the labyrinth was incredible. One of the best haunting attractions in the U.S. Definitely worth $15, and much better than over-priced attractions that aren't even half as entertaining. A must go-to for teens and adults.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Best best best best best.

    Seriously, it's incredible. Everyone involved definitely knows what they're doing! So awesome!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • darkness rising definitely does its thing

    This haunt is definitely towards the top of the best long island haunts list. Good story, good acting, the kid who runs it, you can tell loves doing it. All in all worth a visit, keep it up guys, I only see Darkness Rising getting bigger and better!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Darkness Rising to the Top!

    I had to write a review for Darkness Rising haunted attraction in Massapequa, NY. Some family, friends and I went this past Saturday night. We had an awesome time! As many have written here, it is truly one of the best haunted houses we have ever been to. And we try a new one every year. The best parts of our experience was the creativity that went into the attraction, as well as the simplicity of it. Darkness Rising is a very fitting name for this place as it uses the dark to its advantage to scare the crap out of you! At another haunts we have waited on line for hours only to walk thru it in 5 to 10 minutes, leaving utterly disappointed. Not at Darkness Rising. They have put in special attention to this issue and have made their attraction worth every penny. It felt like we were trying to get out of there (in a good way) for over 30 to 40 minutes. Just when we thought the next turn would lead us to the end, it kept going. It was sick! (In a good way). One particular part puts you right inside a horror movie fantasy, as everyone started to run and scream I couldn’t help but laugh to myself (in a good way), that I was inside the best planned and executed haunted house ever! It may not have all the most expensive animatronics, or special effects makeup, but it surely makes up for this with how the attraction is staged mostly in the dark, and there’s nothing scarier than what could be around the next corner when you can’t see anything. Major kudos to everyone who worked and works at running this place.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AWESOME

    It was short but AWESOME!! I would for sure go back again! And probably get scared again hahaha! I definitely recommend it to everyone

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • This Was awesome! Been to alot of haunted houses and this one sure takes the top of the list for being the BEST! Felt totally lost ,dissoreiented , and scared the whole time! love how its pitch black most of the time. Def worth the wait.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Excellent

    Well done. Can't believe this was made on Long Island. Actors were great! Keep up the good work.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • scared the hell out of me

    I have never been to a haunted house but this one is amazing

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AWESOME haunted house

    i have to say this was an amazing house ive worked in a haunted house and even i was scared! i love the sets!! they were amazing and the actors were all awesome and i love that the money goes to charity im telling everyone about it !! deff will be back next year! great job guys

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • The best!

    For the price, this is hands down the best scare around! My family have come to this 3 years in a row and they put on an amazing show! The zombies keep you occupied on line as well. Great effects, great volunteers, great storyline, great price, =fun time! And all for a good cause, charity! Keep up the great work!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Bring your friends....and an extra pair of underwear!!!

    I went with my friends this past Saturday night and had an awesome time! The hours indicate that they are open until midnight, but we got there at 11 and were the second-to-last people in the line as they closed it behind us. The line can get long, but they bring the spook out to you while you wait ;-) Get there early, it doesn't matter if it is light outside, it is pitch black inside anyway! Lots of interaction, effects, screams, and it is completely worth the $15 donation. This is a self-guided spook house so you have to feel your own way through it (which I love) that has tons of scares around every corner.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best one yet!

    I went this past weekend and I have to say it is one of the best haunted houses I've been to yet! The actors are great and the special effects are fantastic considering the haunt is run by a non-profit organization. For $15, it's definitely the best deal considering the walk through is about 25-30 minutes. We waited for 1 1/2 hours, but the wait was definitely worth it!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • terrifying

    Best haunted house I have been to hands down, extremely well done would go back in a second. I also love that all proceeds go to charity. Great job darkness rising and all those involved!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • The effin best

    The best, scariest, most horrifying, thrilling, heart pounding haunted house I have ever been too.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • The Best!!

    Outstanding!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • WOW. !!!!!!!!!

    Did not expect to be so scared. Very detailed haunt with dozens of creepy rooms and hallways. The actors are top notch! Their make up and costumes looked incredible. Will definitely be going back many times. Thanks to all who volunteered to make it so great!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • great scare for a great cause

    I didn't know what to expect and I've seen the very worse and the very best. Darkness Rising was set up so well. We keep talking about certain rooms and hallways. Definitely surprised me at the attention to detail. The scares were great and the fact it goes to charity. ... even better. Thank you to the masterminds, performers and the Massapequa FD for a great evening. I recommend that you dare to enter the darkness and I cannot wait until next year!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Wow the scariest haunt

    This place is a must go... My gf hates me now

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • A must go!

    Hands down the best around

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great Halloween fun. Scary and disorienting.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best Haunted attraction

    I have been to almost every haunted attraction on the Island, NYC, NJ and PA!! I thought this one was incredible!!! I suggest everyone visit Darkness Rising.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best Haunted House!

    Darkness Rising has to be one of the scariest haunted houses that I have ever been to. We were scared from the moment we entered until we exited. The actors and staff are all volunteers and the proceeds from the ticket sales all go to charity. That alone should make you all visit this haunt. Can't wait to go again!!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • My boyfriend and I went on a whim tonight we both had a great time. I was scared with every step we took

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Totally scary and I travel out of state to other haunts !!

    I have been to many haunted houses on the United States top 10 list including bates motel and the Philadelphia state penetentiary and this ranks with the best !!!! I have been evey year they have been open and LOVE IT !!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Pretty good yet not found anything better to match

    CEO NCP POOLS decided to give it a run friday night. And its pretty good. Some ligit scares,great light and fog effects. Well done.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • I've been to a number of haunted houses and

    This place is great. First off, it's in an industrial park which at night can be very creepy so even the area around you sets the tone. You are sent in in small groups for maximum scares. At first, I thought there weren't many actors and was slightly disappointed but I was wrong. There's an actually story line and they do a good job of keeping you on edge and wondering what was gonna happen next. It's almost like being in a video game. The special effects and actors were all great. There wasn't a long wait at all. However, it was opening night so hopefully business picks up as the season continues. As it should because you should go.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • probally the best Haunted House I have been to in years.

    So tonight 10/04 we went to Darkness rising after eating at Big Daddys down the road (btw also amazing). I heard about a haunted house in Massapequa that rated well on here so we went over. I guess because it was opening weekend it was really slow but the atmosphere in an industrial park was sick. The haunted house was perfect, had great effects that were really original. Had some great actors and crazy sets. Completely disorienting and extremely dark the entire time. I loved this place and had a blast. Contemplating going back next weekend now with more friends.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • SCARY BEST HAUNTED HOUSE EVER

    Just by looking at it, it gives you the creeps. Stepping in is like stepping into another world filled with gore horror and screams! You go into it with a full bladder and come out of it not having to go to the bathroom anymore. Lol all joking aside it reall is an amazing haunted house. Really the best there ever is. If you want a really good scare come on down and go through it. You won't regret it :)

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • no competition

    simply the best there is

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AMAZING

    If you want to be genuinely scared, GO. It's AMAZING.

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Holy S**T

    This place is insane. Best Special EFX I have every seen anywhere!

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • SO CRAZY

    Ive been an actor in darkness rising for three years now. I know what happens in every inch of the haunt and i still come out in tears. Thats a true haunted house right there!! Gets better and better every year!!!

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best Haunt Out There

    By far the best haunt out there, almost 30 minutes long, constantly getting scared and its cheap and ALL the money goes to charity. Highly recommend going only $15 for a hell of a scare

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Crazy scary

    By far this haunt is the best on Long Island. I would completely recommend going there

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Super scary

    Can't wait to go this year. Incredibly scary last year

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • I was incredibly Embarressed in a good way

    I urinated into my shoes out of straight fear. The smell was apparent, I drove home in a haze, but I loved every second of it.

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunted house ever

    Went with my friends last year and we r going again can't wait to go back

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scary and a great cause

    I went with my daughter on a Saturday around 8:30pm and this place was AWESOME. It was well done, very professional and very scary. Good job with the makeup and the place was jam packed with actors. My daughter liked it so much that when we left she insisted we come back again with 2 of her friends. We came back same night but around 11pm and my daughters friends raved about it. HOWEVER since I had just been there 2 1/2 hrs earlier, I was a bit disappointed because it seems at that point that half the actors had already left. That would be my only negative comment. The place closes late but I guess if you want the full effect... you should get there earlier before the rooms start emptying out. Otherwise - great haunt.

    Posted November 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • didn't make it, still loved it

    i could not make it through, as it was too scary, but for those of you looking for a thrill, this is the place to go! each room is one surprise after the next, DEFINETLY NOT for the faint of hearted (like me lol).

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Fun, but TERRIFYING!

    At first it was ok then i thought i was dreaming it went very fast lots of screaming and blackness, lights flashing fog, its a once in a life time thing, but it was awesome i must say that

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • OMG!!

    i pissed m y pants:-(

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • OMG!!!!!! Best haunted house on LI!!!!!

    This was better than Schmitt!!!!!! By far the best on Long Island!!!!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AMAZING

    We have gone two years in a row, and each year it gets better. Everyone was so great and the attactions were very real feeling. We would highly recomend this for anyone that is looking to have a great time! We can't wait for next year!!!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • meh

    I don't know how to take off my other comment but i loved this place and thought it was a lot of fun and i give it 5 pumpkins =]

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • frightning scary

    from when i got out of my car there were actors creeping me out in the street the most thing that creeped me out was when we were in walking threw the fire alarms went off that scared me alot and everthingeelse to and from when i got in my car they scared me. so far ive been to all haunted houses on long island and nyc and this was my TOP BEST well worth the money also so if u can handle extreamly scary things this place is for you. nice job actors builders but i got to say the security gards were pretty dam lazy they need to get with the program and do a better job

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • awesome

    going back again this weekend for the less scary for kids!!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AMAZING!!!

    VERY WELL PUT TOGETHER, AAWESOME STORY LINE. SCARY,FUN, LONG.....OVERAL GREAT!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • nicely done

    very good haunted house! nicely done. we had fun going through it.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome

    Go in a small group, the smaller the better, 4 people is ideal. Was legitimately scared about 5-7 times which was well worth the money. One of the girls we were with didn't make it through (we are all over 25 years old). Definitely worth every penny and great that it goes to charity.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Skeptic Surprised

    Wasn't expecting to be scared, but all the crew there did a great job, had a few legitamate scares, really well done, worth every penny and more.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • THE BEST

    A LOT OF TIME &, WORK WENT INTO THIS HAUNTED HOUSE, BUT THE BEST PART IS ,IT WAS ALL FOR CHARITY. AND IT IS THE BEST HAUNTED HOUSE ON LONG ISLAND.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Perfect

    We went with a large group of us...kids ages ranging from 6 years old to 14. Even my father in law who is nearly 80 tagged along. We had some anxiety in the car ride...but they did such a great job transitioning you into the walk with music, food & a live entertainment that the fear was slightly lifted as you as wait on a long cattle like line. There must have been 10,000 people there. But I have to say...it was perfect & very well done venue. The characters fed off your fear or backed off if they saw the kids were frightened to the point of crying. The scariest of the walk was the last two houses right at the end which is behind the entrance/food.So I recommend if you have kids melting down & don't think they can finish, they can bail out here. That section was obviously the grand finale. All in all it was such a great experience!!Especially knowing that al the money goes to special needs children.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • You Gotta See This

    I have been to quite a few haunted houses but this one stands apart from the rest. It is VERYscary but that's not all. The theme, set design, staging, sound is so well done and professional. The actors really get into their roles and the make up is fantasic. This is a must see and well worth the price and the long wait.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • meh

    Good scares for the price and its for charity! Well done by volunteers.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • BEST HAUNT ON THE ISLAND

    Find out for yourself. Well worth it!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • the most scariest thing on earth and i will never go back

    its not even funny its the most scariest thing ever and if you go there beware trust me it is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo scary!!!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • So scary

    What an amazing experience! I was scared the whole time I was in the haunted house! It's like 25 minutes long and the actors are awesome! I love being scared and thus haunted house definitely did it! And it is all for charity! What is better than that. So far my favorite haunted house on LI!!!!!!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • awesome job

    I've been going to Darkness Rising since the haunt was done in the owner's backyard. It's great to see the haunt get better ever year. This year was awesome! The disease outbreak theme was cool and the entire haunt was very detailed with great scares. I liked how even the waiting line was decorated and was its own haunted house in a way. You can tell a ton of work went into making this haunt amazing and it truly shows. Great job guys, keep it up!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • If you want to be scared go here!

    The effects are amazing. I was also impressed with the amount of actors they had. We really sets them apart from others is how well the sound is staged. Its amazing. Go here, but be prepared to wet your pants.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Very scary!! :)

    Loved loved loved! I've been to a bunch of haunts on Long Island including bayville and this place tops them all. Very scary, amazing set designs, professional actors and special effects. I screamed the entire time :) thanks for a great scare!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • LOVED IT !

    im not a person who gets scared easily but i definitly came outta there not being able to speak because of all the screaming I did ..

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • amazing!

    If you want to get your money's worth of a scare this holiday...then go to Darkness Rising!! The zombie theme is definitely well done. There is a lot of details that other haunted houses don't have.....moving components, light effects, sound effects...it is all professionally done! AND FOR CHARITY! This is my third year going to Darkness Rising events and by far this is the best!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Loved it

    Scared the heck out of my kids and spooked me a few times....Would go again!!!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AWESOME!!!

    This was AMAZING!!!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scary

    Well organized and great setup , very friendly staff and scary it made my wife scream alot

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • It was okay

    Not too scary, they group I went with all felt the same. I heard that this place was great and off the charts scary, it was built up too much, I was expecting it to be much better. I was good and it is worth going to. It's not in my top five.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Outstanding Haunt

    Great special effects and scary live actors

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • The absolute BEST!!!

    Ok, so I am a haunted house junky. I cram in as many in a weekend I can all October. I can get up to 24 a year. I even travel to the top three. Headless horseman upstate , Conneticut, NJ, even gone to Ohio, over 20 years Ive been doing this. I am aggravated, to say the least, when the review says its scary and I walk out mumbling that was a waste of money...lame. Not this time. Long Island has many haunts but lets face it the 2 good ones that compete with the big boys is Bayville ands the playhouse. So I started out last night with Bayville and then went to this house that opened last year in Massapequa. What the heck, its a new one, its only 15 dollars lets check it out. OMG Its AWESOME!!!!! I rate haunted houses by how much I can jump or scream because I was startled. (we say scared but the truth is we are startled) This house took me to the first ever SCARED (not startled scared). I, at my age, got scared for the first time ever at a haunted house. It does not have as many props as Bayville or playhouse but give them a break its the second year, takes time to accumulate props.. But it makes up for that with the fear factor of complete, and I mean complete darkness and amazing laser lights and such. The actors,awesome, I have no clue how they can talk the next day, you are always waiting for the next jump out. Parents really think twice about bringing little kids here. I saw one kid about 12 hysterical outside. Its not for the faint of heart. I never laughed so hard about being scared so much. So this is a MUST for Halloween houses and all proceeds go to charity. Its only 15 dollars. AND its long. My friend was actually griping it was exhausting because he was scared for so long. So many hallways and doors. You have to always open a door to the next corridor or scene. I was so impressed I will be volunteering next year. After all Halloween is the funnest holiday going. Don't miss it, really. I never write reviews but this haunt was by far the most fun I've had on LI. Can't imagine next year. I am going back with more friends, its well worth it. Happy Haunting! P.S. I kept my promise Jamie hope you liked it

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Very good

    I haven't been scared since I was a little kid so I can't tell you if it's scary or not. But I did jump a couple times, there was a lot of unexpected stuff. I went with a girl and she didn't get scared much either but she did scream REALLY loud like twice because they hide in good spots. You should bring your phone or some kinda light with you because it gets PITCH black at some points and you can't find the door entering the next room. I didn't need it but there was 1 part where the hallways were so narrow and so close you can't see your hand in front of your face. It's bad because it's kind of like a maze and you can't tell where you're going so the chance are you will get lost in there without a light. Overall it was definitely a good haunted house. They have a lot of unexpected things and there was 1 point in the beginning in the hallway which actually freaked me out a bit, not trying to give anything away but something that scared me a little will definitely make the average person shit themselves.

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome

    This haunted attraction is amazing. My boyfriend and I actually got a some scares here and we're haunted house veterans so its hard to try to scare us, but this place pulled it off. It has really unique qualities other houses don't have, it's a must go

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Darkness Rising IS AWSOME!!!!!!

    BEST HAUNT EVER!! Ive been waiting since last yr to go back!! its amazing and u have to come!!! all the procedes from every night all go to charity groups and i find that soo cool!!! i cnt wait to see what they have instore this year!!! come and see!!!! YOU WONT REGRET GOING!!! not for little kids tho, but tht just makes it scaryer

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Darkness Rising is the Shit

    Clearly the Best haunted house ever, lasted forever well worth the money, can't wait.

    Posted September 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • fabulous

    I went there like a few days before halloween and I knew as soon as I saw those people getting in me and my friends face that I was in trouble. My friend said that he heard my friend screaming from all the way in the back lol I loved it and so did my friends they say its better then bayville im not to sure never been there but I look foward to going back to darkness rising next yr and I want halloween to come faster

    Posted December 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • this place was LIVE

    I HAVENT BEEN SCARED IN SO LONG BUT I WAS SO SCARED TO KEEP GOING ON BUT I FINISHED WITHOUT EXITING OUT EARLY.....I WILL DEF BE BACK FOR THE ENCORE ON NOV.4TH !!!!!!!!!!

    Posted November 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • WOW ! :)

    HONESTLY I ALMOST PISSED MY PANTS NOT EVEN GOING TO LIE! THIS WAS ONE OF THE BEST HAUNTED HOUSES IVE EVER BEEN TO. & FOR ONLY $10! ITS TOTALLY WORTH IT! ITS ACTUALLY WORTH MORE! IF YOUR REALLY TRYING TO VISIT A GOOD HAUNTED HOUSE & HAVE A GOOD TIME! THIS IS DEF THE BEST HAUNTED HOUSE TO GO TO! :)

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • sooo much fun

    the darkness rising was sooo much fun. it was really scary and i would love to go back next year. :)

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Bravo

    Went tonight, great job. Scared the sh**t out of us. Loved the zombie guy who walks around the line, and all the rooms. It is all for a good cause, and hats off to the effort put for by the Vol FD. You guys put together one hell of a haunt.Thx

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AWESOME

    i was a bit sceptical due to the price being so low, as i got inside i felt the anxiety creeping on me with the warnings of claustrophobia and panic attacks. i dont wanna give away any details, so check it out for yourself. it was great id go again

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • insanity

    i was the first person with my friends to go in last night we were the first people so that means the actors had the most energy and it was soooooooooooo scary the begginging gets you freaked out and the actual haunted house... omg i am speechless

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • im am speechless

    this haunted house was comp;etely insane! it was awesome in evry sort of way there was not 1 part where i wasnt scared defintely worth $10 and it is for charity i highly recommend going.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • REALLY SCARY AND FUN

    went there today with my friends we had a great time and were really scared. deffinitely recomend it

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome!!!!

    Scariest I have ever been too!!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • SOOO GOOD TO BE SCARED AGAIN

    IT'S BEE N A FEW YEARS SINCE I'VE ACTUALLY BEEN SCARED IN A HAUNTED ATTRACTION...I THOUGHT I'D DONE THEM ALL, AND COULDN'T BE FRIGHTENED ANYMORE, BUT THEY GOT ME HERE...GOT ME QUITE A FEW TIMES...GREAT BANG FOR YOUR BUCK AT A THIRD OF WHAT SOME OF THESE ATTRACTIONS CHARGE..AND IT'S FOR A CHARITY...EVEN BETTER. THINKING ABOUT GOING BACK...IT WAS GREAT! DON'T PASS UP THIS ONE!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • BEST HAUTED HOUSE!!

    We went to this haunted house about 2 weeks ago and it was by far the best haunted house I have ever been to! My husband and I are haunted house fanatics! We have been everywhere including Eastern State Penetentiary and Darkness Rising was WAY BETTER!!!!!! Good job guys!!!!!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AMAZING

    MUST SEE, NOT FOR KIDS!!! WORTH THE MONEY....AND WORTH YOUR TIME TO CHECK IT OUT!!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • LONG ISLAND'S BEST KEPT SECRET

    You'd think for a charity haunted house, it would be light on effects, props, actors, and scares, BUT YOU'D BE DEAD WRONG! This place really brought the scares BIG TIME! Plenty of convincing actors, lots of dark areas you can't see when walking through, and the best part? you're only allowed in with a small group at a time, so everyone gets scared! This is a great haunted house to check out, so make sure to do it before the season ends!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • You have to go and see this!

    Absolutely amazing haunted house. The cast, room designs, special effects...really professionally done. NOT for young children...its very scarey. One tunnel that hugs around you...very scarey if you are afraid of being in a tight, dark space. There are characters on the line that are really fantastic especially this vampire that had stare down fights with the public..she stayed in character and spooked everyone as she hovered around. Really awesome.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome!

    this place rocks its long, scary, and super cheap totally worth it. dont go to those expensive haunted houses in the city and waste your time waiting on those crazy lines and 40 50 dollars. its worth the drive, time, and money!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome

    I am the biggest 37 year old chicken and my friends got me to go in. I am so glad I did it was absolutely amazing and couldn't be for a better fundraiser I highly recommend this haunted house. Great job to everyone that put it together!!!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • great!

    I'm 21 and I got pretty spooked a few times. It was a lot of fun but it could have been longer. There was also a very long line that moved very slowly, but there's nothing they could really do about that. Overall it was a lot of fun and pretty scary.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Loved every minute of it!!!!!

    Went tonight and was absolutely terrified. Massapequa fire house really knows what they are doing. They shoud be charging double what they are asking its that good.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awsome!!!

    I was scared!!! Had a great time!! Fantastic for the price!!Mary Heindl

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AMAZING !

    from start to finish i was screaming, this had to be the best haunted house ive gone to so far. would definitly recommend you to go to this house.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • LOVED IT!!

    Highly recommend this place. It was a little dark, but very scary. Loved every minute of it. I would go back again and I may come back next weekend with some friends. Massapequa Fire Department knows how to put on a real haunted house!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • GO HERE!!

    What a great haunted house. There were scares at every turn. They really outdid themselves this year. I would say more, but I don't want to give it away. Great job!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Excellent haunt for an excellent cause

    Ive been volunteering at this haunted house and having a great time giving people a good scare. Its great to see Halloween and a way to help the community come together in one amazing place. Come on down and get a good scare :)

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • This ROCKED

    SCARY, SCARY, SCARY. My kids and I had such a great time. The rooms are really cool and the effects are even better.Thank you for scaring my family

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Really Scary

    I was totally shocked at how good this was! Great price too!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • thanks guys im wanna of the actors and builders and it means alot from all of the good comments it was hard work and still is hope to see u all thanks again=]

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • 27 and i screamed like a little girl

    had such a blast, thought it was gonna be cheesy since it was very inexpensive, but not the case at all. i was truly scared, the tunnel with what i can best describe as someone with claustrophobia worst nightmare was so freaky, the "actors" really did a great job u can tell they enjoy it. the screaming zombie girl. omg startled me so bad i walked into a wallas well as the person in the cage, bringing more friends back here next weekend

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • To Short!

    Four of us went last night , postives- go early lines were short,props inside Haunted House were great, gouls were outragerous inside and outside, negatives- To short, Went thru haunted house in about 20 min. Could have been better!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • awesome! I went twice!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great time for a great cause

    We loved it. It was like going through a haunted house and fun house rolled into one. We will be coming back again.Thanks for a great time and you all are doing a good thing for charity.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Extremely Dark and Claustrophobic!!!!

    My husband and two friends could not make it all the way through. There are area's that are pitch black and extremely scary. We wound up having to leave through an emergency exit becuase I began to panic. I would of asked for our money back, but it is a great cause and we left our donation with them. DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU ARE CLAUSTROPHOBIC!!!Great job!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunted house

    This haunted house was amazing. Every person that went through was covering their eyes and they were afraid of what was around the corner well worth 10 bucks. And its all for charity!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • THIS PLACE WAS INSANE

    I waited about 90 minutes to get in but it was well worth it. They rooms were done really cool and they have a cave room that was awesome. It scared the hell out of all of us. We will be back.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Go for it

    This is by far worth the wait. There was a scare around every corner. Great mix of haunts.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Could Have been Better and Longer

    It was okay, the setups were nice but if you want a REAL scare this isnt where youd go. It was nice but Idk i didnt really like it as much as others id been to. Im glad it was for charity however.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Amazing

    I loved it. I thought it would be short and kids like, but it was scary and so much fun. Totally worth the price also

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AMAZING

    Found this online and figured for the price why not? I was so scared and we had an amazing time. They really put on a great show! My boyfriend and I went (both 25!) and both screamed quite a lot! Not for little kids!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • AWESOME !!!!!!!

    great haunt, excellent scare........everyone should go. I drove from Rockaway Queens....GOOd and scarrrrrrrryyyyy

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • It was a nightmare come true, by far the scariest thing i have ever experienced. Good luck if you go!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • went on opening night

    wow! this.was.AWESOME! words can't describe. my friends and I are mid 20's, and we were freaked out. definitely a must-do on LI

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • What a year...

    Hi guys my name's Kevin Baird, one of the creators of Darkness Rising. I just wanted to thank everyone for all of the awesome comments! It really means a lot after the enormous amount of work that went into this haunt. It took 2 months of planning and a full 6 weeks to build the structure that consumed my entire backyard, and none of that would be possible without our amazing sponsors and volunteers. And to the person who wrote "Not For Kids," We tried our best to tone down the haunt for the first hour on Halloween by taking out all of the actors that make the tour much more intense. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the experience but for future advice, haunted houses are designed primarily to scare people. We advertised that first hour as "less scary," not "not scary at all." All kids are different, but the majority that went through during that time seemed to think it was fine.PS: There were no dead babies in our haunted house. That would be sick. You were probably looking at the two ordinary dolls that we placed inside the girl's bedroom. Just because we put dolls in a haunted house, does not mean that they're dead babies. Sorry for the confusion.Once again, thanks to everyone who helped out!

    Posted November 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • not for kids

    totally not for kids younger than 13 our kids were crying and even the adults were scared this was awful for them body parts dead people dead babies etc ths was during the times they said were ok for little ones

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Lots of fun!

    I didn't know what to expect, having gone to other, bigger production type haunted houses, but it was a great! A bit short, but I guess you can only go so far in someones backyard. Props and actors were top-notch- good job!!

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • THIS WAS AN AMAZING EVENT!!!!!

    I work for a theatrical company and we would offer the guy who scared people in the front a job. That guys make up was amazing and ability to stay in character was flawless. When he started up the chainsaw it made the people on the crowd go crazy. The haunt was second to none. Scares were better than most theme parks and staging was amazing. I highly recommend going to this place and don't waste your hard earned money anywhere else.Thank you for an amazing scare.

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome!

    One of the best and scariest houses I've been through! From beginning to end, before you enter and after you leave.....BEWARE!!

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • This was as good as Terror on Alexander Ave

    This was worth coming from the Nesconset to see. Only $5 to get really scared by a professional haunted house in someones yard. Glad to see that Terror on Alexander was able to keep the spirit alive.

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Well worth $5

    This place was really scary. I thought it was better than a huanted house I paid $25 to get in. Be prepared to be scared.

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • INSANE

    musttt seee! so professional & scaryyyy. VERY IMPRESSED

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • WOW

    This was an amazing Haunt. I can't believe this was in someones Yard. I felt like I was at a theme park.

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • best ever

    This is by far the best haunted house i have been to. Defiantly reccomend going

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • This place is going to be awesome.

    I heard the guy who does Terror on Alexander Ave is teaming up with Darkness Rising. At least thats what it says on their website. Terror on Alexander Ave was amazing. I went through 3 times last year. If it is anything like that be prepared to be scared.

    Posted September 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?