Advertisement

Joe Allocco's The Franklin Square Horror Reviews

 
  • 1148 Norbay Street
  • Franklin Square, NY
  • 516-424-9555
Details
Average Review
Scare Factor
Scary
Appropriate For
All ages
Organization Type
Charity / NOT For Profit
Listing Categories
Home Haunts, Safe Trick or Treating
Review This Haunt
  • Joe Allocco does it again!!!!

    We go every year for over 18 years now and the amount of work that goes into this is amazing! Joe starts building this attraction at the start of August and doesn't stop until the last week of October and he does it by himself with no help. I'd love to see the people who write a negative comment attempt what Joe does. He's raised "Literally" Thousands and Thousands of dollars over the years to Support Autism and Cerebral Palsy Organizations here on Long Island. He's won the Best of Long Island 3 years in a row while being put in the SAME category with Long Islands Biggest Professional Haunts that charge $20 or more! And he does this all in his driveway and side of his house. This is a Home Haunt. Not a Professional Haunted House with acres of land, it's a Home Haunt which has repeatedly won awards "Nationwide" as well as the Best on Long Island. That speaks volumes for what he does and creates! Even while waiting in line, you are entertained with actors scaring you, taking photos ,giving out candy and being chased by Leatherface! In 2017 I saw more people show up then any other year for this One Night Only Event! It only gets bigger and bigger every year so that has to tell you how much fun this event is! Keep up the great work Joe!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted December 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • REALLY BAD

    I saw all the hoopla with this haunt about it being ranked and the news going down there and all....the few actors outside were dressed up poorly and didn't do anything. As far as the haunt? What a joke. It took 30 seconds to walk through it. No real scares or anything. I am sorry but this haunt sucks and is wayyyyyy overhyped. Don't waste your time people!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Amazing

    I've gone 3 years in a row and each time i have so much fun. Every year its something different and I absolutely love it. Going here is a must for my halloween night.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • I love this Place! Best Haumt on the Island!

    If you have never been to Joe Allocco's Franklin Square Horror on Halloween, then you are missing out! You have to see this place at least once! He does an incredible job every year and this will be his 20th Year! People come from all over to see what he created! It's supposed to be a Haunted Funeral Home this year! I can't wait to see it!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Wow! Just Wow!

    Amazing, Amazing Job! The detail to attention that goes into this Haunt is incredible! The House of Voodoo last year was Awesome! Creepy as Hell! You can tell that a lot of time and effort went into this! My friends and family went and we really enjoy it! We'll be back again!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted July 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • A MUST SEE Halloween Spooktacular Event!

    My Family and Friends visit Joe's House EVERY Year! He is one of the Nicest People you will every meet. The time and care that goes into what he creates is unbelievable! He really wants everyone to enjoy themselves and have a really fun and spooky night! Some of the younger kids got pretty scared and Joe went up to them, took his mask off and let them know it was all make believe. I saw him go on to explain how it to him 3 and half months to build and create. He really does an Awesome thing for everyone who visits him! Can't wait to see what he does this year! Great Job Joe!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted February 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • The Best Home Haunted House on Long Island!!

    Joe Allocco wins again hands down for the Best Haunted House on Long Island! My Family, Friends and I have been visiting his house for the past 12 years and IT IS (without a Doubt) THE BEST! It is a TRUE HOME HAUNT in every sense of the word! So many of these other Home Haunts claim to be actual Haunts! THEY ARE NOT!! They are Halloween Yard Displays! There is a difference! You actually walk through a Home Haunt with different rooms and actors not view it from the front yard!! A Home Haunt is a Haunted House you walk through and a Yard Haunt is a decorated front yard! A Home Haunter will always go that extra distance for his craft! He is a true master of his craft and gives the visitors exactly what they want! The Franklin Square Horror always goes that extra mile, whereas, these other so called Haunts just have something "nice" to look at. He also does it for a great cause for Cerebral Palsy and Autism Organizations! 100% of any donations visitors may give goes to those Organizations! This is also the 2nd Year in a Row Long Islanders voted his Haunt the 1st Place - Best on Long Island in the Long Island Press / Bethpage Federal Credit Union Best of Long Island Contest! Congratulations Joe!!! Keep up the Great work!! We will see you again this year!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted February 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Joe Allocco does it again!!!!

    We go every year for over 18 years now and the amount of work that goes into this is amazing! Joe starts building this attraction at the start of August and doesn't stop until the last week of October and he does it by himself with no help. I'd love to see the people who write a negative comment attempt what Joe does. He's raised "Literally" Thousands and Thousands of dollars over the years to Support Autism and Cerebral Palsy Organizations here on Long Island. He's won the Best of Long Island 3 years in a row while being put in the SAME category with Long Islands Biggest Professional Haunts that charge $20 or more! And he does this all in his driveway and side of his house. This is a Home Haunt. Not a Professional Haunted House with acres of land, it's a Home Haunt which has repeatedly won awards "Nationwide" as well as the Best on Long Island. That speaks volumes for what he does and creates! Even while waiting in line, you are entertained with actors scaring you, taking photos ,giving out candy and being chased by Leatherface! In 2017 I saw more people show up then any other year for this One Night Only Event! It only gets bigger and bigger every year so that has to tell you how much fun this event is! Keep up the great work Joe!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted December 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • REALLY BAD

    I saw all the hoopla with this haunt about it being ranked and the news going down there and all....the few actors outside were dressed up poorly and didn't do anything. As far as the haunt? What a joke. It took 30 seconds to walk through it. No real scares or anything. I am sorry but this haunt sucks and is wayyyyyy overhyped. Don't waste your time people!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Amazing

    I've gone 3 years in a row and each time i have so much fun. Every year its something different and I absolutely love it. Going here is a must for my halloween night.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • I love this Place! Best Haumt on the Island!

    If you have never been to Joe Allocco's Franklin Square Horror on Halloween, then you are missing out! You have to see this place at least once! He does an incredible job every year and this will be his 20th Year! People come from all over to see what he created! It's supposed to be a Haunted Funeral Home this year! I can't wait to see it!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Wow! Just Wow!

    Amazing, Amazing Job! The detail to attention that goes into this Haunt is incredible! The House of Voodoo last year was Awesome! Creepy as Hell! You can tell that a lot of time and effort went into this! My friends and family went and we really enjoy it! We'll be back again!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted July 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • A MUST SEE Halloween Spooktacular Event!

    My Family and Friends visit Joe's House EVERY Year! He is one of the Nicest People you will every meet. The time and care that goes into what he creates is unbelievable! He really wants everyone to enjoy themselves and have a really fun and spooky night! Some of the younger kids got pretty scared and Joe went up to them, took his mask off and let them know it was all make believe. I saw him go on to explain how it to him 3 and half months to build and create. He really does an Awesome thing for everyone who visits him! Can't wait to see what he does this year! Great Job Joe!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted February 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • The Best Home Haunted House on Long Island!!

    Joe Allocco wins again hands down for the Best Haunted House on Long Island! My Family, Friends and I have been visiting his house for the past 12 years and IT IS (without a Doubt) THE BEST! It is a TRUE HOME HAUNT in every sense of the word! So many of these other Home Haunts claim to be actual Haunts! THEY ARE NOT!! They are Halloween Yard Displays! There is a difference! You actually walk through a Home Haunt with different rooms and actors not view it from the front yard!! A Home Haunt is a Haunted House you walk through and a Yard Haunt is a decorated front yard! A Home Haunter will always go that extra distance for his craft! He is a true master of his craft and gives the visitors exactly what they want! The Franklin Square Horror always goes that extra mile, whereas, these other so called Haunts just have something "nice" to look at. He also does it for a great cause for Cerebral Palsy and Autism Organizations! 100% of any donations visitors may give goes to those Organizations! This is also the 2nd Year in a Row Long Islanders voted his Haunt the 1st Place - Best on Long Island in the Long Island Press / Bethpage Federal Credit Union Best of Long Island Contest! Congratulations Joe!!! Keep up the Great work!! We will see you again this year!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted February 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • A for Effort

    The house is decorated nicely, looks like a lot of work went into it because it is just done by one person. Some* of the neighbors get into it and come out to scare the people on line, of course it's only scary if you're under 8. But still, with a good attitude, it's fun. I just felt the the trip through it wasn't even a whole 50sec. It was extremely short. The theme was house of voodoo and there was one shamin at the end, and some fake fortune tellers. It was cute that one of the actors was using his iphone flash as an effect. Honestly, Just wish it was longer. Not fun to wait in line for an hour, for something so short. *Neighbors from maybe three homes were into it, the others wouldn't even answer their door for the children trick or treating while their guardians wait in line. Kids get bored. The might as well trick or treat at the near by homes.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • It was alright

    i went last year. I myself do get scared easily , i went through the haunted house and surpassingly wasn't scared at all, idk lol to me everything that is creepy or jumps out at me scares me, but i guess maybe i could deal with scary stuff. its the 1st haunted house use ever been to lol , but everything else was nice, actors and decorations were on point. The house is more of like a spooky decoration kind of deal, occasionally there would be 4maybe 4 actors inside that are inside, but most of them are usually outside scaring people on the street.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Unsure
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted September 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 7 found this review helpful

  • The Best Home Haunt on Long Island!!

    I've been visiting this Haunt with my friends and Family since 2005. It's our Tradition! It's the LAST House on a DEAD END! Joe won one of the Best Home Haunts in the Country by FEARnet.com and was the ONLY Home Haunt Chosen in all New York State! That HAS to mean something! If you are like me and Love Halloween, then this is the ONE and ONLY Home Haunt you should NOT miss on Halloween Night! Keep up the Great Work Joe!!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • One of the BEST Haunts and a Halloween Tradition!

    This guy and his Family of Ghouls know how to put on one HELL of a Show! One of the Scariest Haunts I have ever been in! The detail is incredible! I go every year with my whole family. They really keep you entertained while waiting to get into the Haunted House and any donations we give, goes to a great cause for Cerebral Palsy and Autism! Keep up the Great work and we'll see you on Halloween Night!

    Posted September 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Award Winning Home Haunt

    I love this Haunt!! I go every year with my Family! We make it a Tradition. Last year they won an Award for their Haunt from their Home Town. They were Recongnized for 18 years of service to the Community! I love the fact that they put all this work into what they do so that everyone and their kids can have an Awesome Halloween Night! It's better then the professional Haunts you would have to pay $15.00 or more for. This is just as professional, if not better!

    Posted September 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    7 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • The BEST Home Haunt I've ever been to...

    I know there are a lot of creative people out there, but this guys tops the list! He does an incredible job year after year with the design of this Haunted House Walk- Through.I can see why he was Chosen as One of the Best Home Haunts in the Country. I go every year with my family. We make it part of our Halloween Tradition. It's AWESOME and a lot of FUN and it goes to good cause for the disabled.

    Posted September 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    7 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • SCARY

    I've spent $25 to get into haunted houses that couldn't compare to this. $5 - what a bang for your buck plus the money goes to a charity. Well laid out. The props & lightning were awesome. Actors really got into their roles. I've heard a bunch of little kids crying... don't know what their parents were thinking of when they brought them there. It really is a great haunt.

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 7 found this review helpful

  • Zombies Invade Norbay Street!!

    I drove down this block to see what was gong on, and it looks like a scene right out of a Zombie Movie! There are Quarantine Signs all over the place and the front of the house is spooktacular! I can't wait to see it on Halloween Night!!

    Posted October 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Scary!!!!

    The look of this house and it's "live"actors is what makes this home haunt/haunted house so successful! They do an incredible job here year after and me and my family make it tradition to see what new scares they come up with every year! Keep up the good work guys!

    Posted September 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 7 found this review helpful

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?