Advertisement

HorseAbility Haunted Hay Barn Reviews

 
  • 40.799726, -73.549537
  • Old Westbury, NY
  • 516-333-6151
Details
Average Review
Scare Factor
Scary
Appropriate For
ages 10+ suggested
Organization Type
Charity / NOT For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Not-So-Scary Haunted Houses (Kid Friendly)
Review This Haunt
  • Email Verified Best Haunted House around

    HosreAbility does an amazing job transforming their historic brick barn to the best haunted house in Long Island. The walk through took 17 minutes, (much longer than most haunted houses). there was never a point that we weren't scared. Also a great addition was the carnival with many fun games and a food truck. This is the best activity for everyone (it is handicap excesible). I cant wait for next year!!!!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted March 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Fun

    Fun

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted December 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Amaazing!!

    I went with my boyfriend, not with high expectations, because it's a barn right? No way, I was completely wrong. This was one of the best haunted houses/halloween attractions I've ever been to. The staff and volunteers at Horseability put their whole selves into the decorating, no one ever broke character, and the whole purpose behind the house is very heartwarming. Horseability is a necessity in our society, to help disabled children and people with therapeutic horseback riding and such. Beautiful cause and great people!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • omgggggg

    Defininitely worth $13.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awesome Place

    My girlfriend was absolutely terrified lmao. The detail was excellent in all the rooms and the actors were very good. For 13 this is way better than places like bayville, great haunt

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great gets better every year

    Better than last year, they do a great job for a great cause

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Best Haunted House on the Island

    Honestly this was one of the best haunted houses I have ever been to! The actors were all amazing and each room had so much detail! Definitely recommend the Saturday night version to Sunday night as there seemed to be way more actors in the house on Saturday. The barn itself was creepy to wait in. Overall it is a great event!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Best Haunted House around

    HosreAbility does an amazing job transforming their historic brick barn to the best haunted house in Long Island. The walk through took 17 minutes, (much longer than most haunted houses). there was never a point that we weren't scared. Also a great addition was the carnival with many fun games and a food truck. This is the best activity for everyone (it is handicap excesible). I cant wait for next year!!!!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted March 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Fun

    Fun

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted December 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Amaazing!!

    I went with my boyfriend, not with high expectations, because it's a barn right? No way, I was completely wrong. This was one of the best haunted houses/halloween attractions I've ever been to. The staff and volunteers at Horseability put their whole selves into the decorating, no one ever broke character, and the whole purpose behind the house is very heartwarming. Horseability is a necessity in our society, to help disabled children and people with therapeutic horseback riding and such. Beautiful cause and great people!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • omgggggg

    Defininitely worth $13.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awesome Place

    My girlfriend was absolutely terrified lmao. The detail was excellent in all the rooms and the actors were very good. For 13 this is way better than places like bayville, great haunt

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great gets better every year

    Better than last year, they do a great job for a great cause

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Best Haunted House on the Island

    Honestly this was one of the best haunted houses I have ever been to! The actors were all amazing and each room had so much detail! Definitely recommend the Saturday night version to Sunday night as there seemed to be way more actors in the house on Saturday. The barn itself was creepy to wait in. Overall it is a great event!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Always a great fright at the farm!

    The Haunted Hay Barn just keeps getting better each year! This third season was a charm - so many more rooms, made the walk through so much longer than the past two years - so creative and detailed. The wait was easy (less than 20 minutes) with two fabulously creepy clowns to entertain you the whole time. Loved the interaction with the actors in the house- something that you do not get at other haunts. Their volunteer actors are AMAZING! Great Job!! Can't wait to see what they come up with next year!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Well worth it

    I saw these guys at the Haunt Faire earlier in the year and decided to check them out this past Sunday night (the 23rd). I wasn't sure what to expect since it's all volunteers and it calls itself a "barn". Let me assure you, this barn is either enormous or they make great use of the space (probably both). It took us about 16 minutes to go through it which is 2-4x longer than most other attractions. The rooms & themes are very varied. Most of the rooms aren't necessarily "scary" but they are definitely creepy. There's even a Rob Zombie room and a Slipknot room which was unexpected but very cool. The costumes & props are very well done and the actors are clearly very serious about their roles.The only minor downside would be the wait time. Since this haunt is so long and the actors get you involved in their skits, they leave ample time in between groups. This ensures that you never run into another group but it also means you'll be waiting on line for a very long time.Great job to everyone involved. I'll definitely be back next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Scary and Better than the Others

    Very well done. Lots of fun and scary. Almost as good as the old Bayville Haunted Fire House run by the Fire department. If you liked that, you will like this. Sadly that one no longer runs because of damage from Sandy, but some of the creators are here at this Haunted Barn! It's better than the Bayville Scream Park and more reasonably priced. Also better than Darkside out in Waiting River.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Better every year

    Love that is so scary but u are careful to have staff tone down for younger or easily frightened visitors. Great job!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted December 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Fantastic Haunted Hay Barn

    Great location and building, lots of creative details and costumes. Actors were very true to characters.So many rooms to get spooked in --can't even remember some they were so well done! Even just needing to take a shuttle to the site was made a bit creepy...not knowing where you are going. (also its for a great charity/program!)

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Crazy creative

    10x's better than last year- the place is old and creepy as it is but its the CRAZY attention to detail that takes it over the top. so creative and thought through. the actors were spot on and NEVER broke character. can't wait to see what they pull out next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • So scary!

    First off, the location is enough to scare you away! Secondly, there are so many types of scare tactics that even my brave, macho boyfriend let out a couple of screams. Woman at the front said it was completely wheelchair accessible also which is awesome! Highly recommended!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    8 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • A must do for the Halloween season!

    Not only is the Haunted Hay Barn legitimately creepy in and of itself, but add amazing actors, make-up and sets and it is the scare of the season! From creepy dolls to scary clowns to hell and back, for $13 you get it all. Great price, great attraction and great organization. Aboslutely worth it. The hardest part is finding the lot where the bus picks you up; go to the main entrance of SUNY Old Westbury (route 107 just north of the 106/107 split) and follow the orange signs to the shuttle. Two more weekends left, plan it today!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 7 found this review helpful

  • Covers practically every fear

    Positively creepy and wickedly scary. Went opening night and found that practically every fear imaginable is covered by the great/twisted minds that bring you this Haunted Hay Barn. A must to check out during the Halloween scream season. You won't be disappointed. It's back by popular demand for a reason! Such a fun experience.A bonus is that the proceeds go to charity.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Awesome

    We went last night, and had a scream. This place is great. The location is enough to scary you before you even go in! They said it was the same people who did the Bayville haunted firehouse which was the best, and they didn't disappointGo to this haunted house for some good scary fun!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Incredible! Best Haunt on the Island

    This place is better than even the Bayville Haunted Firehouse was which we have been missing since they closed down. ....totally insane creepy location..great actors, great rooms, awesome make-up a great scare. Super cheap and for a great cause!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Do not miss out!!!!

    The BEST haunted house I have ever been to...actors are absolutely amazing!!! The grounds of the haunted house already set off a spooky feel...GREAT HAUTED HOUSE!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Just Awesome

    It was really scary. Definitely worth the visit

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Terrifying & perfect location!

    Absolutely terrifying & in the creepiest location possible!! Fantastic actors & an ubelievable setup- definitely not to be missed!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • AMAZING

    Absolutely terrifying. .I would recommend this to everyone the actors were phenomenal and the decorations were awsome...almost didn't make it through. Exceeded my expectations 100% and the shaving guy from Bayville was there ( always liked him lol)

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Use a Different address to arrive- worth the confusion!

    We got lost going to the haunted barn, but it was still totally worth the aggravation!!! Receptionist told us instead of using 223 Store Hill Road for GPS, use: 99 Cedar Swamp Road in Jericho. This is for the high school across the street from the main entrance to campus. When it told us "we arrived at our destination on the right", we made the left into the campus. Then followed the orange signs to the campus center where the shuttle picked us up. SOO scary and well done, definitely worth getting lost for!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • shockingly creepy- Details are ridiculous

    So many live actors mixed in- hard to tell where to look or run next!!!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • OMG- INSAAAANEEEE and Terrifying

    So worth the $10... I barely made it through the first section and could not believe the detail inside. Be prepared to be grabbed, chased and thoroughly creeped out. I wish they were open next weekend too!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • An awesome haunted house!!!

    the rooms were scary, the actors are incredible, and I got scared like 2838273 times (approximate) ! It was way bigger then I expected and even the grounds are spooky 0_oDefinetly will be going back!!P.S. It's the same people who created the Bayville Haunted Firehouse...so you know it's gonna be amazing!!!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Best Haunted House I've been to in years!!!!

    Exceeded my expectations! So many crazy and spooky and terrifying rooms and the actors were incredible! and it was way bigger than i thought it would be! Even the grounds are spooky 0_oDefinitely worth it!!P.S. Done by the same people who ran the Bayville Haunted House...but this one is way better!!!!!!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Scaryyyyyyyyyyy

    Great fun - awesome rooms - all must come !

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Scaryyyyyyyyyyy

    Great fun - awesome rooms - all must come !

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • AMAZING! Can't believe this is the FIRST year!!

    With all that they going can not believe that they haven't been doing it for years! So many FANTASTIC actors.... Had a great time.... horrified, but it was awesome. HIGHLY recommend!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Terrifying and a really cool venue!

    Crazy themes- insane building- realllllly scary!!!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?